Life and it’s many surprises!

This morning, I woke up at 5:30 a.m. and had a steeping- round cup of hot coffee…….AH! I continued in my normal routine, brushed my teeth, dressed myself, and ate a bowl of Cornflakes. Why so early? Well, my Food Production I class started today..WOO-HOO! Another factor, Meme ( mother-in-law) was going to be watching Adia until I got out of school.
Sleeping Beauty (Adia) was snoozing so gracefully, I didn’t particularly enjoy waking her up. She was a trooper though. As she marched herself off to the bathroom and brushed her teeth.

My sweet husband offered to switch vehicles being that it rained hard last night. The tread on my Jeep Cherokee tires aren’t fancy! He just wanted to make sure I would be alright. 😉
I agreed to the idea and so we headed our separate ways. Have you ever had one of those annoying radio stations blaring out ridiculous things super early in the morning? Today..was one of those mornings.

So…I’m sitting there driving and there it is. The epiphany of all things obnoxious….Question is do I turn it off while holding a cup of monstrous hot coffee or deal with it?
I chose turn it off which led to spillage and then scream-age. Not really..but I wanted to. I meet up with sweet Meme, give Adia lots of sugars and hit the road. Then it hits me…..no I didn’t get sweeped off by a garbage truck. I come to the realization that my phone is missing which in fact, I lose everyday..literally.

I decide to drive home, change my coffee drenched pants..so I don’t look like the kid who’s still takes a pacifier at age 10 because he can. Search for my phone that has legs…then Aha!
There it is wedged in between the two seats in the car. Yay! Pure bliss…I’m on a roll again. I arrive at my destination and I’m happy.

School lets out and I go to start the ignition. Click. Click. Click….Nothing. I call my husband let him know whats going on…and in a snap he come’s to my rescue ❤
Conveniently, Matthew has a class at the same campus as me.. so we just switched vehicles. We decide to focus on letting the day go and worrying about the details later.
We say our goodbyes and encourage each other!

I was cruising about 50-55 on hwy after leaving campus, then I hear a thunderous booming sound. Followed by a rattling and major pressure on the Jeep. My first reaction, "What in the world?" I slow down my speed to about 30 and call Matt. Um, sweetheart there is an odd sound coming from the Jeep. Matt, "Yeah?" Me, " Yeah, wanna hear it?" I hold the phone up so it can absorb the mind-boggling sound. Matt's response,"Um, what is that?" Me, " I"m going to pullover."

We arrange for Meme to assist picking me up as of the circumstances. Obviously, Car trouble of some sort. It was scary, to say the least. I decide to bite the bullet and drive 1/2 mile down the road to meet her. As I'm driving it feels like my Jeep is going to explode from all the pressure coming from underneath. I'm getting ready to pull into the parking lot and I notice a look of sheer panic stretch across Meme's face. Her arm's waving ; yelling STOP!

I park the Jeep. Run around to where Meme is standing and notice my left front tire is hanging on by one sheared lug-nut/stud. Meme looked at me in astonishment and said," Honey, there we're angels watching over you today." My response, " I know." Sent chills up and down my spine.
Here's some pictures of the lug-nut/stud.

Life get’s hectic sometimes. Believe me. Always count your blessings. Today I counted mine.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 08:02:30

    Wow, Nat! God watches out for us every day but sometimes He makes it more obvious. So glad you are alright!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

