Tuscan Bread Salad

We made this in our Food Production class this week. I didn’t actually get to try it because I sliced my finger open with my chef knife…ouch!
I have officially paid my dues as a culinary student…haha. Other than accidently nicking myself I enjoyed watching everyone else make their yummy Tuscan Bread Salads. I then proceeded to practice some more on my knife skills when I arrived home and made Matt and I some Tuscan Bread Salad for dinner and it was Oh so good!

Recipe to follow:
2 oz Firm, White Italian Bread
1 Roma Tomato, concasse
1/2 Small Red Onion, sliced
3 leaves Fresh Basic, chiffonade
1 tsp French Italian Parsley, Chopped fine
1 clove Garlic, minced
1 fl. oz Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1/2 fl oz Red Wine Vinegar
1/2 tsp Lemon Zest
1 pinch Crushed Red Pepper
To taste Salt and Black Pepper
1 whole yellow onion/ dice/ saute

1. Cut the bread into large dice sized pieces. Dry in an oven, and place the pieces in a bowl.
2. Add the tomato concasse to the bowl.
3. Add the remaining ingredients and toss to mix.
4. Let stand about 1 hour, or until the bread has absorbed the juices and softened.

Leave a Reply

